At First Glance: Love O2O

mainland drama_chinese drama_微微一笑很倾城_顾漫_a smile is beautiful_wei wei yi xiao hen qing cheng_zheng shuang_yang yang_seoul in love now blog

Can we just take a moment to bask in the utter adorableness of this show?  Seriously, if you haven’t been watching I truly suggest that you do!  I am having the best time with this show.  I hadn’t heard of the book or the drama until I read Amber KMuse’s post urging other people to join her watching this totally fantastic drama.  What a complete shame it would have been had I not taken the time to read Amber’s article!  I would have been oblivious to this drama and that would have been bad!  My life is better with this drama.  Ok, that might be a little much.  But seriously, this drama just makes my heart happy and I cannot help but smile and giggle while watching.  I suggest that you take a moment to read Amber’s post too, she’s read the novel as well and I think she’ll convince you to watch this too!

The story revolves around people who play an online MMORPG (Massive Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game) called Chinese Ghost Story.  It’s set in ancient times and characters play a variety of class types from bard to rogue to healer.  If you’ve ever played WoW or Ages of Camelot or Elder Scrolls Online (or any number of other titles) then all of this will be old hat to you.  If you’ve not played an MMORPG before, it’s a video game that you play as a character online and you quest and play with other people who also play the game.  I’ve been playing MMORPG’s for a long time, way longer than I should admit too!  So when I read that it would be about people playing these types of games I was totally in.

As of now I’ve finished 10 episodes.  If you haven’t figured it out yet, I’m absolutely in love with this drama!  The characters are all bright and vibrant and a lot of fun.  The leads are gorgeous and have great chemistry and they are totally cute together.  The supporting cast is hilarious and I want them all to be my BFFs!  The characters, in their real lives, are students at a university.  They had real life worries and classes and do things together like friends do.  The sections of the show that depict that In Game experience are phenomenal and utterly gorgeous.  The Costumes!  I want to wear all of the costumes!  The CGI locations in game are a little cheesy, but honestly I hardly notice that.  I cannot tell you how much I really love the way the game and real life intertwine!

I will be caught up to the currently aired episodes probably within a few days.  I wish that I could forgo sleep and just marathon the next 6 episodes right now!  The show is just light and breezy and full of fluff!  And you know what?  I love it for that!  It is just sweet and fun and easy.  Is anyone else watching this now?  I’d love to know what you think too!!  If you aren’t watching you really-really should!!!

3 thoughts on “At First Glance: Love O2O

Leave a Reply

