30 Day Asian Drama Challenge – Day 22

30-Day-Challenge_22

Welcome back to the twenty-second day of the 30 Day Asian Drama Challenge!  Today’s question is:

Your favorite noona romance.

This question was made for me!  Seriously, if you’ve been to my blog a time or two then you know that this is my all time favorite trope from Asian dramas!  Which of course makes this a hard question!  I love lots of Noona Romances!  How do I pick just one?  Well!  I decided to go with my top 3 favorite Noona Romance so far!

Using my Noona Meter I’ll briefly touch on my top 3, I promise I’ll keep it brief otherwise this post will be like ten pages long.  We all know that I can ramble on and on about this trope and the shows I love in it!  These 3 dramas all came out with a rating of a 9 for my Noona Meeting scoring process.  That’s a big deal for me!  To check out my scoring process, plus a list of Noona Romances please check out my Noona Meter!

In no particular order:

Myqueen

My Queen.  This was the third Taiwanese drama that I’d watched.  It had nearly everything that I look for in a Noona Romance!  I loved this one so much and it was mt first introduction to Ethan Ruan.  He’s totally adorable!  Here’s how My Queen scored against the Noona Meter.

Overall = 9

Emphasis on the Noona Romance being a Forbidden Love = 9

Importance of the Noona/Dongsaeng Age Difference = 10

Dongsaeng’s Persistent Puppy Love = 9

Noona’s Resistance to the Puppy Love = 9

Noona and Dongsaeng’s Relationship =8

Noona is Consistently Strong = 9

Baby-faced-Beauty57

Baby-Faced Beauty.  This one was so sweet and adorable.  I highly recommend this one.  Not only is it a fantastic Noona Romance, but it is a new twist on the Noona Romance.  I’m a huge fan of the usual trope cliches, however, this story had a great new bend and that added to my overall enjoyment!  Plus, for me, Daniel Choi and Jang Nara have great chemistry!  Here’s how I scored this one.

Overall = 9

Emphasis on the Noona Romance being a Forbidden Love = 9

Importance of the Noona/Dongsaeng Age Difference = 9

Dongsaeng’s Persistent Puppy Love = 9

Noona’s Resistance to the Puppy Love = 8

Noona and Dongsaeng’s Relationship =10

Noona is Consistently Strong = 9

Last_Cinderella

Last Cinderella.  This was my first Japanese drama!  I watched it shortly after it aired.  Of all the Noona Romances that I’ve watched in full this has the biggest age gap of 20 years.  Also, out of all the Noona Romances I’ve seen this is the only one that I’ve been tempted to re-watch!  That’s how much I absolutely loved it!  Here’s how it did with the Noona Meter.

Overall = 9

Emphasis on the Noona Romance being a Forbidden Love = 9

Importance of the Noona/Dongsaeng Age Difference = 10

Dongsaeng’s Persistent Puppy Love = 7

Noona’s Resistance to the Puppy Love = 9

Noona and Dongsaeng’s Relationship =10

Noona is Consistently Strong = 9

Here’s the 30 Day Asian Drama Challenge if you are interested in joining!  I’m looking forward to seeing everyone’s answers to these questions.

30-day-kdrama-challenge

 

One thought on “30 Day Asian Drama Challenge – Day 22

Leave a Reply

