30 Day Asian Drama Challenge – Day 15

30-Day-Challenge_15

Welcome back to the fifteenth day of the 30 Day Asian Drama Challenge!  I had to take a break from updating due to my mom breaking her ankle!  Since she was at five percent mobility I’ve been practically living with her so no drama watching time or blogging time!  She’s doing much better now!  So I’m back, picking up where I left off!

Today’s question is:

Drama you watched in full, but it was a waste of your time in retrospect.

This particular drama was one I watched way way WAY back in my first year in dramaland.  Before I truly knew what I was doing and what sort of dramas that I would truly enjoy, I randomly picked dramas that I searched for online.  It was a very cumbersome and awkward way to find dramas to watch.  Anyway, my pick for this question is Playful Kiss.  It was my first introduction to this story, which has been remade many times by many Asian countries.

Playful_Kiss

I really wanted to just totally love this one.  However, I never connected to it at all!  This was way before I dropped shows, which I do now though rarely.  I should have dropped this one.  I felt so blah afterwards.  To me there was absolutely no chemistry between the leads, like none at all!  I know he’s supposed to be cold and aloof, but there has to be some warmth and a few sparks.  For me there was nothing at all!

The only good thing about this drama was that it introduced me to the story, which I went on to watch the Taiwanese an Japanese versions.  I love this story, and I really enjoyed both the other renditions of it.  But the Korean attempt fell flat and I wish I hadn’t wasted my precious drama watching hours on it!

Here’s the 30 Day Asian Drama Challenge if you are interested in joining!  I’m looking forward to seeing everyone’s answers to these questions.

30-day-kdrama-challenge

5 thoughts on “30 Day Asian Drama Challenge – Day 15

  1. Funny story. I was very meh about Playful Kiss when I first watched it. But a Mood hit me several years later, & I picked it up for a rewatch, and ended up really enjoying it. Go figure, eh?😛 Glad your mom’s better!

    Like

    1. I was just talking about something similar with another person on the blog. I bet there are a lot of dramas that if I watched them a second time I’d love them way more than I did the first time around. Thanks! Yeah it was a really nasty fall and break. But she’s so much better now almost able to put weight on it again!

      Like

  2. I’m with you on this one. I don’t know how many times I dropped watching it midway episode 1. But after seeing all the other adaptations of Itazura Na Kiss, out of curiosity, I decided to give it a try again. I finally managed to finish it just a month back. I agree with you, there’s absolutely no chemistry between the leads at all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

