30 Day Asian Drama Challenge – Day 2

30-Day-Challenge_02

Welcome back to the second day of the 30 Day Asian Drama Challenge!  Today’s question is:

Actor(s) that proved you wrong about their acting abilities.

I had to think about this one a lot!  Over the years that I’ve been watching dramas I haven’t watched that many with the same actor(s).  Unless I really adore that actor, then I make it a point to find their works to watch.  In these cases I definitely have my fangirl rose colored glasses on and so I forgive much of their weaknesses because of my love of them.

Then it hit me who I wanted to talk about!  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I love this guy so much I can’t even tell you how much I adore him.  I first met Lee Kwang Soo in City Hunter, which was also the second Korean Drama I ever watched way back in 2012.  I immediately fell in love with his character.  Then I discovered Running Man and boy was I head over heels for him!  He was even my very first Dongsaeng post!  I saw him again, as an actor in Love on Air.  He played a very similar character in both shows.  I figured that this was his niche.

tumblr_o3tp5axmSt1twxzw8o2_1280

However, then I watched Kwang Soo in Puck!  Holy cow!  He was amazing!  His character was a thug trying to make a little bit of a better life.  I 300% believed that he was a tough guy and that you should not cross him.  Such a completely different character than the bumbling techie in City Hunter and assistance in Love on Air.  And utterly different than his Running Man persona!  I was absolutely pleasantly surprised!.

Here’s the 30 Day Asian Drama Challenge if you are interested in joining!  I’m looking forward to seeing everyone’s answers to these questions.  And thanks again to POPdramatic for creating this challenge!

30-day-kdrama-challenge

11 thoughts on “30 Day Asian Drama Challenge – Day 2

  1. Kwang Soo’s great! Have you seen him in It’s Okay It’s Love? He’s very good in that too ^^ My pick would be Lee Bo Young. I used to find her so meh, but then My Daughter Seo Young happened, and then she’s been great ever since. Loved her in I Hear Your Voice!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love Kwang Soo so much!! I haven’t seen It’s Okay It’s Love yet, it is one that the hubs wants to watch it so I’m waiting to watch until he wants to watch another Asian drama. I’ve only seen her in I Hear Your Voice and I adored her in that! It’s cool that she has gotten so much better!

      Like

  2. Wonderful pick! He is amazing and blew me away in Puck. I feel bad for talented actors like him who get typecast. I hope this opens up some lead roles. I actually plan on having him as part of the cast in my next Dream Drama. And I’ll make sure it’s a meaty role.

    My choice for this question is Joo Sang Wook. I first saw him as the 2nd lead in “That Fool.” His character was boring as could be with so little to do. He was basically just a pretty face. And to be honest, most people would be upstaged with Hwang Jung Min in the lead. Then I saw Sang Wook in the Crime Drama “Ten.” And the sequel. He was excellent. Then his comedic side was wonderful in Birth of a beauty. I didn’t see the dramas following though. But I know he continues to grow as an actor. He became so much more than a Korean Ken doll.

    Great challenge. I’ll continue to answer the questions along with you.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right!!! His performance in Puck was so crazy good! I already loved him, but that has solidified my love for him. I really want to see him a the romantic lead in a drama! Omo! Really? I’m so on board for Kwang Soo to be in a Dream Drama, like way on board for that!
      I haven’t seen Joo Sang Wook as anything other than a guest role in a couple dramas. I’ve really wanted to watch Birth of a Beauty, but I’ll have to add Ten to my list of dramas to watch!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lee Seung gi. Don’t kill me!! But his past shows felt like a repeat of characters, until “King 2 Hearts” came on. And i am like damn….i want him. Ok.. i am not a pervert, hehe, but he became an actor i cared to watch and is now my top 10.

    Like

Leave a Reply

