At First Glance: Full House (Thai)

9bd90b0a7a

This show came highly recommended to me from several of my trusted blogverse and dramaland friends.  I must admit that I never watched the Korean version.  The reviews and blog posts about it that I read turned me off from it before I ever watched it.  The same friends who suggested that I watch the Thai version told me in the strictest confidence that the Thai version was much more warm than the Korean version ever managed to be.

Since watching several versions of Playful Kiss I doubt that I’ll be watching additional versions of this show.  However, I did see that this same couple portrayed the mains in a Thai version of Playful Kiss.  Now I wasn’t a huge fan of the Korean version of that story but I enjoyed the Taiwanese and really loved the Japanese version.  However, I do love that story so… there is a possibility that I’ll watch the Thai.

I started this one before my break, I only finished 3 episodes.  Now I’m just under halfway through.  This is my very first Thai drama.  So far it is pretty freaking adorable.  The story, like so many other fluffy and light Asian dramas is pretty silly.  But I think that’s part of why I love this genre of drama.  The sheer absurdity of the premise adds a layer of fantasy that I love and makes the drama more fun for me.

So far the story is semi-predictable but for my first drama back after a long break I’m ok with that!  I think that is part of the draw of this genre too, its what one might call brain candy.  The acting seems to be on par for the show, except for the gal playing the lead Aom-Am played by Manaying Sucharat.  She is very over the top and her crying scenes are painful to watch, not because she can hit me in the feels, but because they remind me of a toddler having a fake tantrum.

All in all I am enjoying this ride and I plan to keep on going!

Leave a Reply

