Pint-Sized Review: Ohitorisama

6728poster_image_3134_1_5

This Mini-Review of Ohitorisama Contains Some Spoilers in the Form of Fangirl Squees

My mission in 2016 in part is to watch several dramas from my Noona Meter list.  So that I can offer advice on the Noona Romances found there.  Which is how I found myself watching Ohitorisama.  Usually when it comes to the Noona Romance I can forgive a great deal, I can but on some blinders, and just happily enjoy the ride.  Sadly, I couldn’t find much at all to like about this drama.  I had hoped that my first impressions of the show would fade and I could come out at the end with a new found love for it.  Didn’t happen, not even close!

There was just so much wrong with this one that I had a hard time seeing what was good!  As a whole the show as frustrating and unsatisfying.  But, I’m going to try and take a few moments now to point out what I did like.

 Before the introduction of Koike Teppei’s character Kamisaka Shinichi the way that the show depicted the adult life of a single and successful woman was great.  Akiyama Satomi, played by Mizuki Alisa, would be me if I were single.  Messy, opinionated, strong, confident, and pleased with the ability to do whatever she liked whenever she liked.  I thought that the show did an excellent job setting up her character.

Just about the only other thing that I liked about the drama was the friendship between Akiyama and the school’s principal Tajima Yoshie, played by Maya Miki.  They had an easy sort of friendship that blossomed throughout the show.  I loved watching them try new experiences and do new things together.

It saddens me that’s all I can come up with in regards to what I did enjoy.  What didn’t work for me?  Well everything.  There was absolutely no chemistry between our leads, Akiyama and Kamisaka.  They were awkward, even when they were supposedly falling in love.  Kamisaka was a weak character, with no backbone whatsoever.  There’s a limit to being bumbling and cute, in this aspect his character was cringe worthy and frustrating.

The side stories all seemed rushed and disjointed.  Other than the main couple’s story everything else either wasn’t seen to fruition, fell to the wayside, or was finished without any reason.  There was some real potential for supporting stories that were completely missed.  Also, a love triangle was thrown in at episode 8 that fizzled a few minutes after it was introduced.  Maybe the fact it was only 10 episodes prevented the writers from adequately spending time on these possible story tangents.  I think they tried to add too much into too little available time.

 Looking at this from the Noona Romance side, it failed miserably.  The dongsaeng didn’t even fall for his Noona until the end of episode 7.  He didn’t even fight for her, she had to pursue the entire relationship (not that she really did this with any confidence or passion) and it all felt so forced.  There was no adorable moments between the leads where they were silly in love.  The age difference was a momentary thing, and it never really felt like a forbidden love.  To top it off our Noona became weak and indecisive the moment Kamisaka showed up.  All those lovely traits that I adored in the beginning went away and she was just as weak and spineless as Kamisaka.

I’m sad I finished this one, and I don’t normally say this.  I can usually find something that saves the whole drama for me.  But unfortunately I couldn’t really find anything that made this one worthwhile.  I really need to work on my “drop this drama now” muscle, I would have saved myself a couple hours that could have been spent on more worthy dramas.

800px-Ohitorisama-banner

Noona’s Rating

Overall 5
Story/Writing 4
Cast/Actors 5
OST 6
Sets/Costumes 6
Feels 4

The Noona Meter

The Noona Romance is close to my heart, most of you who know me in the blogverse and dramaland know.  With the help of friends I’ve created The Noona Meter.  A rating system that focuses only on the Noona Romance within the show.  To see what each category means take a peek at this article.

The Noona’s Noona Meter

Overall = 4

Emphasis on the Noona Romance being a Forbidden Love = 6

Importance of the Noona/Dongsaeng Age Difference = 6

Dongsaeng’s Persistent Puppy Love = 1

Noona’s Resistance to the Puppy Love = 4

Noona and Dongsaeng’s Relationship =2

Noona is Consistently Strong = 5

 

One thought on “Pint-Sized Review: Ohitorisama

  1. I’m sorry this disappointed you. I’m one of the single ones forever among my peers and friends. But I’ve watched how getting into a relationship and marriage changes a woman’s outlook. She may have been spunky, independent, strong and confident, but once she finds her man there’s a certain give and take as she concedes more and more to him. Kept in balance I don’t see that as a bad thing. Love and marriage is a two way street and shouldn’t be a powerplay that so many couples make it. Good doesn’t seem to come of it, only fights, break up and divorce.

    In the drama world, we’re watching with a limited lens, time is sped up, so the change in a woman’s attitude may suddenly seem abrupt and weird, I understand that. It sounds like this drama was about the woman on the pursuit and prowl, and the young man being portrayed as the weaker prize. I think most Noona romances are about the young pup taking his stand and control of the relationship, not letting his youth get in the way in a society that deems a younger man/older woman shameful. Not that the woman has to be the spineless one of course. She should be able to keep her confidence and strength while in the relationship. But not in a way that lords over the guy either.

    Anyway, I’m probably not making much sense. But your Noona Meter is cute. Now here’s the big question.😀 If you were to put Sun In Ho and Kim Ye Seo from my “Afterglow” Dream Drama in the Noona Meter, what would be your ratings? Heehehe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

