Oh My Venus: Episode 1

Oh_My_Venus

This Review Contains Spoilers in the Form of Fangirl Squees

I have been looking forward to this drama since it was announced!  I fell for So Ji Sub during The Master’s Sun and Shin Min Ah in My Girlfriend is a Gumiho.  Plus Shin Min Ah is one of my most favorite actresses, I’ve been watching a great deal of her movies and have amazing intentions to watch Arang and the Magistrate. Which brings me to Oh My Venus.  I couldn’t resist, even though I vehemently swore of watching a show live after recapping and live watching both Emergency Couple and I Need Romance 3.  Yet here I am!  I won’t be recapping, that takes way too much energy.  However, my plan is to review the episodes.

So far I love it!  From what I can tell the show is not trying to be anything more than what it is.  Not hiding its message and premise behind some higher moral or Joo-Eun_01glamorous story.  It feels that at parts it is not serious at all, and doesn’t intend to be taken seriously.  The main story is simple.  Meet Kang Joo Eun, the most desired, popular, and ace of the school in 1999.  All the boys love her and all the girls are annoyed by her.  Right from the get go I adore her spunky personality.  She knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to be in charge.  All her hard work is going towards being a lawyer who is righteous and fights the good fight!

Woo-Sik_01We are introduced right away to her first love Woo Sik, who happens to be the National Swim Champion.  He falls for her when she stands up to the delinquents who are smoking on campus.   There is quite the adorable love confession on a rooftop and with that we’ve set up the story.  Joo Eun achieves her life’s goal and becomes a lawyer, one who has a set of morals that doesn’t mesh with the law firm she works for.  Her desire to do the right thing all the time gets her into some trouble, that and her inability not to state her mind.  Did I mention that I like her?  We aren’t given much information yet on the life that Woo Sik has built, just that they have been together for 15 years and he rarely answers her texts.

Next up we are transported to America where Young Ho is embroiled in quite the scandal, one that forces him to remain in hiding and has made Young-Ho_01national TV on a few tabloid shows.  What I did appreciate is that the English speaking actors were decent this time, as in actually believable and alright actors.  It was very refreshing.  Anyway, Young Ho is made out to be the master of transformations.  He can remake anyone, or so we’re led to believe.  He has two young friends, the Korean Snake Joon Sung and Joon Sung’s manager Ji Woong.  What I understand so far is that Young Ho Buddies_01is training Joon Sung for the MMA or UFC or some fighting competition similar in fashion.  They are all very concerned with the news of the scandal.  Enough that Young Ho needs to leave America and not be found in Korea.  Which of course makes me ever so curious about the whole fiasco.

Of course we have the chic second female lead who is everything that Joo Eun isn’t right now, well mostly she’s skinny compared to Joo Eun’s chubby.  I already dislike Soo-Jin_01her, she’s stolen the love of Joo Eun’s life!  But, we don’t have the whole story as of yet.  Still, I’m rooting for Joo Eun already and so I dislike Soo Jin.  And of course Woo Sik since he obviously cheated on Joo Eun, and broke up with her on their 15th anniversary!  What a dirt-bag!  There are a few other cast members that are introduced this episode too.  Of course every heroine needs a BFF and a cute side-kick.  We know very little about the BFF, though from what I can gather she’s very concerned with the scandal that Young Ho is wrapped up in.  Also she’s divorced with a child.  As far as the cutey side-kick we’ve only seen her briefly at the law firm, but I already adore her!Buddies_02

What am I loving?  Young Ho’s insatiable curiosity about Joo Eun.  Their bickering is fanstastic!  Joo Eun’s spunkiness and feisty personality.  The story isn’t pretending to be anything other than a love story.  And even takes a few jabs at itself to be sure we don’t take it to seriously.  What am I not liking so much?  That Joo Eun is constantly reminded that she’s slightly overweight, as if it is erroneous crime.  Yeah, I know, that’s the entire premise of the show!  But come on, she’s just barely overweight and it is like the end of the world.  What am I looking forward to?  The OTP!  The last shot of Young Ho and Joo Eun in the rain is adorable and just makes me want more.  They have amazing chemistry and I am already looking forward to the next episode!

OTP_01

2 thoughts on “Oh My Venus: Episode 1

Leave a Reply

