At First Glance: Heart to Heart

tumblr_nhum8q0Lnw1qij3qwo1_r1_1280

I picked up this drama after reading a review by Fangirl. So when I finished Kyo wa Kaisha Yasumimasu I decided it was time to give it a try.

First, it isn’t anything like I was expecting based on a few reviews and the synopsis. But that’s not to say I don’t like it.  In truth I wasn’t sure if I’d stick with it after the first episode. Though I’m glad I gave it another episode before deciding what to do.

I’m three episodes in and I’m really enjoying it thus far.

The Premise

The heroine is Cha Hong Do who has a social anxiety disorder and severe blushing, so she hides herself away from the world in her home.  one of the only times she leaves is when she’s seeking work, but she dresses up as a grandmother and hides her blushing with makeup.  The disguise gives her anonymity which allows her to overcome her social anxiety disorder for a short while.  For seven years she has been in love with Detective Jang Doo Soo.  She sneaks out wearing a motorcycle helmet and leaves Doo Soo homemade food and side dishes with little notes.  Doo Soo is a lovable well-meaning cop who desperately wants to meet the elusive Hong Do face to face.  Through a series of unfortunate events Hong Do meets self-centered, egotistical, and emotionally damaged famous psychologist Ko Yi Seok. And then finds herself involved in his disastrous life at every turn.

First Impressions

The first episode dealt with some intense emotions and situations in a very passionate and high energy way.  It was borderline comedic without actually crossing that line.  Which is why I considered dropping the drama, however, I figured I’d give it five episodes and after that if I still felt the same way I’d say goodbye.  I’m so glad that I didn’t drop it right away.  The second episode was very good.  The characters calmed down and seemed to be more comfortable in their roles.  And I am really enjoying the story.  The drama deals with some very real issues in regards to mental illness and disorders, though they try to keep a somewhat lighthearted approach to keep it out of the melodrama feel.

I’m only three episodes in and already I’m fully invested in the characters, their struggles, and stories.  I know that it is a good drama when I start rearranging my day so that I can fit in more episodes at a time.  So far I highly recommend this drama if you are looking for a good story with interesting characters.

4 thoughts on “At First Glance: Heart to Heart

  1. Thanks to the Fangirl Verdict’s review, I also added it to my list, though it’s a drama I normally wouldn’t be interested in. One day I’ll catch it. I’m torn about how the dramas treat mental illness. I haven’t really watched any of them. I don’t like it when they treat the subject with too much lightheartedness, but I also don’t like too much melo. So i just try and stay away from that type of genre. See enough mental illness in real life and it’s frustrating and pitiful.😦

    P.S. Squee’d when I opened the link and saw your gorgeous Choi Jin Hyuk banner.😀

    Like

    1. I had no idea that Kfangurl had reviewed this too! I am so-so behind on all the blogs that I normally read. I’m totally going to read that after I watch one more episode lol. Though if she gave it a positive review I’m even more happy I picked it. I usually find our tastes are similar. I usually tend to steer away from dramas or American shows that deal with mental illness. I want the subject matter to be given the respect that it deserves, however, I don’t want to feel depressed and emotionally drained after watching it either. There is a very fine line that must be tread to make me happy. I’m about halfway through the show right now and I am pretty pleased with how they are treating the subject matter. There are a few scenes and dialogues that made me cringe, but they are few and far between. I’ll let you know how I feel when I’m done, hopefully it continues to be this good.

      P.S. Yay for squees! I’m especially pleased with my Choi Jin Hyuk banners hehe.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

