Something New

break_02

The New Year has brought on a lot of firsts for me, and I have to admit that I am loving every moment of it.  With the New Year has come a remodeling of the site, with all new banners to fit the larger header space, and a double live watch session; Emergency Couple and I Need Romance 3.

Now a new, shiny, and brilliant idea was proposed to me.  My honorable Sunbaenim suggested that, because of my obsession with Noona Romances that I perhaps make an attempt to gear my blog a go to place for reviews and suggestions on Noona Romances.  And you know what?  I think that’s just about the spiffiest idea I’ve heard all year.

I’ve begun with creating a rating system that is separate from the rating system I use to review dramas as a whole.  For my overall reviews I grade shows on; Story/Writing, Cast/Actors, OST, Sets/Costumes, and perhaps the most important Feels.  So far it has worked out very well and given a fair grade to the shows that I’ve watched.

To create this new system I used the article I wrote regarding what I look for in a Noona Romance.  This Noona rating system will be; Importance of Age Difference, Dongsaeng Puppy Love, Noona’s Resistance, Noona/Dongsaeng Interactions, Forbidden Love, and Consistently Strong Noona.  Check out my post on Noona Romances for more information on this list.

My excitement for this new endeavor is really high!  Though I was wondering if other Noona Romance Lovers would like to participate?  Using the rating system that I’ve put together my fellow drama-citizens could add their ratings as well so that we get a more balanced view on the Noona Romance within a drama.  If you’re interested in helping out I’d love to get as many people involved as possible!

Now I come to the crux of this whole thing.  How exactly do I go about it?  I’ve already reviewed some of these shows.  My reviews are shorter than most and more a discussion of my feelings during a show along with what I liked/disliked about the show.  They are not earth shattering or in depth recaps/reviews like some of my Sunbaes can manage.  So do I review these dramas a second time only focusing on the Noona Romance portion?  Or do I only rate them on the above mentioned scale?

As you can see I haven’t worked out all the kinks yet, however, I wanted to put the idea out there into the blogverse.  Firstly, because I can hardly contain my excitement about the idea.  And Secondly, because I was curious if anyone else would be interested in joining me in creating a definitive list with balanced reviews of Noona Romances.

So I open up the floor for opinions, suggestions, and just general discussion!

22 thoughts on “Something New

  1. Just off the top of my head, you could call your new rating system The Noona Meter. (Somehow I really like the sound of that).. And then maybe you could edit your existing reviews of shows that contain noona romances to include a section where the show gets put through The Noona Meter? This would only apply to shows that have noona romances, of course.

    And then perhaps you could create a page where a list of all the noona romances reside, so that people have 2 different lists to go to on this site, one where they can find ALL reviews (including noona romances), and one where it’s ALL noona romances. This way, you get to play noona, yet review and play with non-noona romances too😉

    Like

    1. Also, one potential way of letting everyone else participate, is to create polls at the end of the reviews for the noona romances, so that people can submit their ratings that way?

      Like

      1. Can I add a poll to a post? This is where I would need assistance. I’ve played with the polls once and it was a crude deal all the way around. I love that idea. It would allow the people visiting the site to add their thoughts on the Noona Romances. And it would be a more concise place rather than just asking people to contribute in the comments section.

        Like

    2. Noona Meter!!! *bows* You’re brilliant! That is so perfect! I am going to call it the Noona Meter, done!

      I was struggling with what to call it heh, Noona Romance Rating System just seemed way to long and cumbersome. Which is what I’ve been calling it while working out exactly how to rate a Noona Romance. Thankfully I’d done a lot of the work with my previous post!

      That’s very good, that way I wouldn’t have to go back and re-write a review, I could just add a second part utilizing the Noona Meter and perhaps just adding a little bit to discuss the Noona Score. See this is why I posed the question to the blogverse! I definitely needed some help smoothing out the kinks. A page with just the Noona Romances on it would create a go to space for those who want to focus on just the Noona Romance. And it doesn’t limit me to just Noona Romances, because there are so many shows I do want to watch that aren’t a Noona Romance. Thank you!

      Like

      1. Aw, you’re welcome! I’m glad you like the ideas!😀 And yay that the Noona Meter is a go; I think it’s got a nice ring to it ^^

        Yes, you can add polls to a post. It doesn’t allow for a whole lot of wiggle room in terms of more complex polls, but you can easily put in simple polls. If you wanted people to vote on a rating, then perhaps one poll per item to be rated might work? You can definitely put in more than one poll per post, if you wanted.

        Like

      2. Noona Meter absolutely has an amazing ring to it. The name is perfect! I really need to make you a Sunbaenim badge or plaque or something for all the help you’ve provided!

        I’m going to have to mess around with polls then. Because I think that will be the easiest way to allow multiple people to be involved in rating the Noona Romances. I’m a little bit biased when it comes to Noona Romances so it will be very nice to be able to provide a balanced opinion. I’m sure that with some time dedicated just to playing with the polls I’ll be able to figure them out.

        Like

  2. I agree with @kfangurl, if you have that master list of Nuna romances, then just editing the past posts with their Nuna meter ratings woul be fine if you’ve already reviewed them as people would have that handy list to refer to to find new & old posts.

    Like

  3. Great idea! It will give your blog a definite and original angle! I luvvssss itttt!!! Being an ahjussi lover I guess Im kind of the opposite of a noona lover? but I have enjoyed at least one that I can recall, the I hear your voice couple! altho ugh ejem, I was a little more into the second lead on that one, but I did like the main couple as well! Oh that drama was one of the best I’ve seen, in many aspects.

    Like

    1. Thank you!! I’m really very excited about it too. It’s an excuse to watch every Noona Romance that I can find😉 Oh well I share a love for those Ahjussi too! I’ve got to share my fangirl love all around you know. I Hear Your Voice was really amazing on so many levels, I agree! It is one of my favorites now.

      Like

  4. Oooh awesome idea! Yes to creating a master list of noona romances, and since you might want to be thorough, a separate page/list for dramas with a noona romance in them but aren’t noona romance as a whole? I like the noona meter rating system!

    Like

    1. You know, I just had a thought. Where would you put all the noona romances that aren’t really noona romances or blur the lines somewhat (or alot?), like My Love From Another Star and Big? I’d love to read your take on where dramas like these fall along the spectrum (and it does seem to be a spectrum these days instead of a drama being strictly noona rom or not).

      Like

      1. Ooooohhhh I have no idea! I haven’t seen either of those dramas yet, however I really want to watch My Love From Another Star. I’m not sure about Big, so many reviewers that were disappointed in it.

        I don’t know that I want to have too many pages with things spread out over them. But then again I don’t want to cram too much into one place either.

        I’m sort of toying with the idea of making a separate blog that would be for the Noona Romances… but then that’s two blogs to maintain and I’m not sure I could do that! lol

        I want to include as much as I can, I mean the goal is to be a thorough place for all things related to the Noona Romance. This is something I’ll need to work out.

        Like

      2. A separate blog? I don’t think you need that though, and maybe it’s best to focus on the lovely one you hv here first and see where it leads? Well don’t let me derail you, it was just my brain fart talking. Just something for you to keep in mind when a wannabe-noona rom rears its head🙂. As for Big, yes it was a big (Ahem) disappointment, but their age difference was one of the obstacles of the pairing, although physically he was all grown up. And she relates to him (initially) as a teenager which irks him. So that’s a noona rom element there but as a whole the drama doesn’t quite fit into the traditional mould. If you intend to be a completist (is that a word?), you might consider checking this out too? You can skip the bad parts (i.e. the ending) haha

        Like

      3. I believe that I’ll be starting with a page on my current blog that focuses on Noona Romances. To test the waters and see how it works. As with everything in the blogging world it will be an ever evolving project I’m sure. However, with all of the help I’ve gotten from you lovely folks I’ve got a clearer idea of what I want. And for now, I think you’re right I really don’t need to create a separate blog.

        Omo I’ve got a long-long way to go to be a completist (we’ll make it a word cause we’re awesome), but I will probably watch Big for the Noona elements and the fact that it has Gong Yoo. But that will probably be a while down the road.

        Like

    2. That’s sort of where I’m not sure. I might have one page and just two lists. The first would be true Noona Romances and then the second list would be those that aren’t focused on the Noona Romance, but it was like the secondary story or something.

      Like

  5. Wow, good luck with this project unnie! I think it’ll be fun if you can review the dramas again only based on the noona romance aspect. Hehe. I rarely watch noona romance dramas so I won’t be much help, but I’m supporting you all the way. ^^

    Like

    1. Thank you chingu! I’m really excited to get it started. This weekend is set aside for dramas, writing, and working on this new project. I hope to unveil it early next week! Awww that’s ok, we all have our favorite drama tropes. Thank you for your support!!! I really appreciate it!🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

