I Need Romance 3: Ep 1 & 2

I-Need-Romance-3

(These Episode Recaps Contains Spoilers in the form of Fangirling Squees)

Part of my Drama New Years Resolutions was to watch a new drama as it aired…  I had intended to wait for ER Man & Woman because of my serious love for Choi Jin Hyuk and Song Ji Hyo.  However… I’m a weak Noona and the fact that I had a free night by myself and it happened to coincide with the first episode of I Need Romance 3 combined with my ultimate love for the original I Need Romance and the main story is a Noona Romance…  well I had no power to resist it, the dramaverse was against me, I couldn’t help myself!  So!  Welcome to my mini-reviews as I live watch I Need Romance 3!

Episode 1

I love the OST, well at least the song which played a few times in the first episode.  It was so fitting for the show and it wasn’t overpowering.  I’ve watched a few dramas in which the song was so in your face that it detracted from the overall scene.  Not so much this time.  I loved it and will most likely end up purchasing it.

The Noona in me loves-loves-loves the set up for this Noona Romance.  The lead, Joo Yeon, is a strong and successful woman who knows what she wants and isn’t dependent on a man for her success.  It also hits on most of my desired plot points for a Noona Romance.  So far I’m a very happy Noona.

Allen Joo is lovely too.  I like that he’s a somewhat free spirit and creative.  He’s a great balance for Joo Yeon’s workaholic character.  His puppy dog love/devotion to his Noona is super fun so far.

The show has done a good job of setting up the basics of the supporting cast.  Though at the moment I don’t really know enough about them, I am liking Joo Yeon’s circle of friends.  In addition the show has done a good job with setting up the rivalry between our lead and Oh Se Ryung.  Joo Yeon’s sunbae seems a little bland so far, I hope that they give him a little more personality/back story.

Episode 2

I’m still loving the song.  Its just such a pretty song and so far they’ve been using it appropriately and it hasn’t overpowered the scenes.  ‘Don’t Cry’ by Lee Hyori and Lee Sang Soon is my current favorite song, I did end up purchasing it and I totally don’t regret it at all.

I’m curious as to what the show is going to focus on.  Joo Yeon’s drunken blabbing about not being loved and having no one she loves makes me curious.  I know that she’s angry and hurting for that scene, however, she does have a circle of friends who care for her.  It would be rather neat if they focused not only on her love life but on her friendships as well.  I’m looking forward to how the stories unfold.

Everyone is still being established, but I am enjoying Joo Yeon and her employees/friends a lot.  Their interactions are fun.  The introduction of a romantic relationship with her Sunbae in the past is interesting too.  And of course they’ve added more contention between Joo Yeon and Se Ryung.

So far I am really liking the show!  I’m very much looking forward to next week’s episodes!

3 thoughts on “I Need Romance 3: Ep 1 & 2

  1. Isn’t Sung Joon dreamy in this? The way he looks at her, I swear, melts me insides good and proper!! I hope this goes the way I want it to, because these two look so good together it would be a waste of chemistry.

    Like

    1. He absolutely is totally dreamy! He’s the perfect Dongsaeng for a Noona romance. Not to mention his chemistry with Kim So Yeon is electric! Oh man, you’re totally right. The way he gazes at her melts this Noona into a gey puddle of fangirl.

      I’m really hoping that the story focuses on more than just her love lines. It would be totally cool if they also focused on healing her friendship love too. And I hope that Sung Joon and Kim So Yeon end up together because as you’ve said that chemistry should totally not go to waste, it is amazing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

